Types of law in India, Indian Law

Types Of Law In India.

what Is Law?

Law is basically a set of rules that a country or community might create and enforce to regulate its members’ actions. Each citizen in India has been granted a variety of rights. Infringement of these rights will not be tolerated. With a view towards civilizing society. And maintaining peace and harmony among all people, our legislature has issued a variety of legal guidelines in Indian Law.

Indian law is based on combined legislation. It is based mainly on the parliamentary legislature, court and customary laws, as well as non-secular laws. Judges create the Indian Judicial System through their decisions, orders, or judgments. In this article, we are explained about types of law.

Four types of law in the Indian Judicial System

1.Criminal Law

In this first type of law. The Indian Penal Code (1860), Code of Criminal Procedure ( 1973), and Indian Evidence Act (1872) are the main Indian criminal laws. Based on British criminal law, the Indian Penal code, defines basic crimes and punishments and is applicable to resident foreigners and citizens alike, and recognizes offenses committed by Indian nationals abroad. This law is an offense that is against the entire society, not just one individual.

This type of law requires the police to play a significant role. Criminal law can include crimes such as murder, assault, robbery, and rape. Because such wrongdoing could also have been done to others, criminal law includes them. Criminal law is dealt with by the public services and not by private lawyers or investigators.

If you are also looking for the Best Criminal Lawyers in Delhi then contact us.

2. Civil Law

In this second type of law. It is simply the law that deals with actions that aren’t crimes. The civil courts hear all civil cases. The civil procedure code (C.P.C.) governs the operation of the civil courts. This code regulates the filing of civil cases. It includes rules regarding how a case is handled, appeal rights, review, reference, and other relevant information. Indian civil law is complex because each religion has its own laws. Indian law is changing in accordance with the modern world. The most recent example of this was the domestic violence act, which was passed in 2005. Further sub-divisions of civil law include tort and Contract law, Family law, Property law, and Family law.

3.Common Law

Common-Law, also known as Judicial precedent, judge-made law, or case law is a section that is derived from the decisions of courts and similar tribunals. The name implies that the Common Law is derived from the judicial decisions of courts and similar tribunals.

It is shared by all. Lower courts cannot overturn the precedent set by higher courts. Although lower courts have the option to change the precedent, this is rare.

Common law marriages are those where two people live together for at least 10 years. Because of this, they have legal rights to share their assets.

4.Statute Law

Statute law is the fourth type of law which is also known as Statutory Law, is a law that has been created by an act passed by the legislature and signed by the executive. The state legislature is responsible for drafting and signing state laws. Rarely, the chief (President, governor) may refuse to sign the invoice or reject it. This is called a “veto.”



Leave a Reply